Ogun LG poll: Jubilation in Ago-Iwoye as Sobonojo emerges APC candidate - NIGERIAN NEWSORBIT


Tuesday, May 25, 2021

Ogun LG poll: Jubilation in Ago-Iwoye as Sobonojo emerges APC candidate

...as Obagun clinches SSG's ward ticket

There was jubilation in Ago-Iwoye, Ijebu North Local Government Area of Ogun State on Monday as the All Progressives Congress (APC) members elected Sobonojo Adeniyi as the party's councillorship candidate for Ward 11 (Mamu-Etiri) in the forthcoming local government elections in the state.

Sobonojo emerged after defeating two other aspirants, Odufuwa Samuel and Mustapha Basirat, in the councillorship shadow election held at the ward meeting centre on May 23, 2021. 

He polled eight votes which was the highest number of votes, while his closest rival, Odufuwa, scored three votes. Mustapha did not secure any vote at all in the exercise. 

It was gathered that 10 out of the 14 qualified leaders to participate in the shadow election signed and endorsed the result of the poll. 

The ward is that of the lawmaker representing Ijebu North II state constituency, Rt. Hon. Dare Kadiri, who was recently impeached as Deputy Speaker of the state House of Assembly. 

Following the outcome of the primary election, scores of APC members in the Ifelodun constituency embarked on wild jubilation, dancing and chanting solidarity slogans. 

They expressed joy that the shadow election went without rancour and that other aspirants accepted the result in good faith.

Meanwhile, Hon. Obagun Yinusa Abiodun has been elected as the APC councillorship candidate for Ward 7 (Oru-Awa-Ilaporu) in Ijebu North Local Government Area of Ogun State. 

Obagun emerged after defeating another aspirant, Comrade Ibrahim Adekanmbi, in a shadow election held at the Court Hall, Oru-Awa-Ilaporu Health Centre premises.

In line with the directive of Governor Dapo Abiodun, APC members at the Ward 7 where the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Mr Tokunbo Talabi, hails from converged for their meeting on Sunday, May 23, 2021 to specifically elect a councillorship candidate. 

It was learnt that no fewer than 102 members were in attendance at the meeting which was presided over by the Acting Chairman, Chief Tiriba Adesina, supported by other members of the executive committee. 

Although the two aspirants for councillorship were asked by party chieftains to discuss with each other and possibly come up with a consensus candidate, none of them agreed to step down. 

It was after both aspirants failed to agree that the meeting resolved that a five-man Leaders Committee set up by Ijebu North II Constituency leaders to manage the party with the Ward Executives before and during the 2019 general elections should meet and decide on the councillorship candidate. 

The five-man committee includes Chief Tiriba (Acting Chairman, Caretaker Committee 2019 to date), Hon. Abolore Olusoga (former Supervisory Councillor Ijebu North), Hon. Owolabi Olutayo (former Councillor on the platform of ACN/APC), Chief Yemi Oresanwo (former Ward 7 Party Chairman ACN/APC) and Mrs Esther Adebogun (Women Leader). 

After their short meeting, members of the committee returned and recommended Obagun to be the APC councillorship candidate for Ward 7, citing his leadership style and contributions to the success of the party in the last general elections. 

The recommendation was ratified with voice vote after a motion was moved by Mr Ogundeko Kazeem that Obagun contest the councillorship in the local government elections scheduled for July 24, 2021.

No comments:

Post a Comment