New dawn as Wale Olanrewaju becomes Ogun NUJ Chairman - NIGERIAN NEWSORBIT


Friday, December 23, 2022

New dawn as Wale Olanrewaju becomes Ogun NUJ Chairman

Comrade Victor Akinwale Olanrewaju, the immediate past Chairman of Information Chapel on Thursday emerges Chairman of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) Ogun State Council polling 165 votes to defeat his counterpart, Comrade Remi Olugbenro of FRCN, Paramount FM Chapel who came second with 149 votes.

Members of the union across the state had converged at Iwe Iroyin, the secretariat of Ogun NUJ at Oke Ilewo, Abeokuta as early as 7am to elect a new leadership that will paddle the affairs of the union for the next three years.

It would be recalled that the union had experienced a prolonged crisis during when the former Chairman Comrade Olusoji Amosun died.

Announcing the result, the Chairman, Nigeria Union of Journalists, Oyo Council who doubles as the Chairman Electoral Committee, Comrade Ademola Babalola declared Comrade Akinwale Olanrewaju winner of the poll having satisfied the Union's constitutional requirements by securing the highest number of votes.

Comrade Babalola during the swearing in ceremony enjoined the elected officers to be magnanimous in victory and bring all the various factions in the Council together as a family saying "in unity lies our strength,".

In his victory speech, the newly elected Chairman, Nigeria Union of Journalists, Ogun State Council, Comrade Victor Akinwale Olanrewaju appreciated all members of the union for coming out en masse and to cast their votes for him in an atmosphere of peace and tranquility.

Olanrewaju, fondly called Centrism used the avenue to reiterate his commitment to bringing back the lost glory and the pride of the union assuring all members that his leadership would do all in its power to bring unity and sanity to the union.

He has equally extended his hands of fellowship to other candidates saying, there was no victor, no vanquished in the keenly contested election as everyone is a winner.

Other elected officers of the Council include, Comrades Abiodun Lawal of Correspondent Chapel (Vice President), Bunmi Adigun of OGTV Chapel (Secretary), Toyin Oyelumade of OGBC Chapel (Assistant Secretary), Idris Adelakun of OGBC Chapel (Treasurer) and Babatunde Odunewu of State Information Chapel (Auditor) while the position of the Financial Secretary would be filled with by-election.

No comments:

Post a Comment